A friend recently gave me an unforgettable gift – a book, “If you want to walk on the water, you’ve got to get out of the boat.”  The book was referencing the story in the Bible about Peter walking on water…however, no matter your religious affiliation, the concepts I gathered from the book could help anyone in their own life.

 

Let me set up this incredible “walking on water” story for you…There’s this fisherman named Peter who is out in the middle of the sea on a boat with his buddies, when the wind picks up and starts tossing their boat around… Peter and his friends fight to keep the boat steady, all the while staying inside this boat that’s like a second home to them (remember they’re fishermen)….Now, please understand that this boat is very familiar to them and a huge comfort zone for them; in fact, with their way of life, they spend much of their lives inside the boat…To them, staying in this boat is way safer than going into the wavy sea that is moving all around them…

 

In the middle of this, and out of no where, they see a friend of theirs, Jesus, walking on the water towards them…at first, they think He’s a ghost – then they realize, whoa, this is definitely Jesus…Peter, known among his friends for his impetuous behavior, yells out, “Jesus, if that’s really you, call me out there and I’ll come meet you.”  Jesus calls back, “It is I. Come”, so Peter literally gets out of this boat (what would seem to any logical person to be the only safe place to be at that moment) and decides he is going to actually walk on the water to meet Jesus…and it works!  This ordinary guy literally walks on liquid….seriously…

 

There are many angles and lessons to this story, but the one that I want to focus on is the very fact that a human being walked on water…And, that he “got out of a boat” before he did this remarkable thing.

 

It strikes me that more than once in my own life I’ve been “on a boat” so to speak, when “high winds” have hit me, and I had a decision to either “stay on the boat” (my safe zone), or “get out of the boat and walk on water”…

 

It also strikes me that it’s only in the times of my life when I made the decision to get out of my boat that I’ve been able to do an extraordinary thing like walk on water.

 

The author puts it this way:

 

“If you don’t get out of the boat, there’s a guaranteed certainty that you will not walk on the water.  This is an immutable law of nature…

 

There is something – Someone – inside us who tells us there is more to life than sitting in the boat.  You were made for something more than merely avoiding failure.  There is something inside you that wants to walk on the water – to leave the comfort of routine existence and abandon yourself to the high adventure that awaits.

 

Let me ask you a very important question: What’s your boat?

 

Your boat is whatever represents safety and security to you…whatever you are keeps you so comfortable that you don’t want to give it up, even if it’s keeping you from walking on water…

 

Want to know what your boat is?  Your fear will tell you.  Just ask yourself this:  What is that most produces fear in me – especially when I think of leaving it behind and stepping out onto the water…”

